Next STEP Global Conference: Day 1 (Welcome, Session 1, Keynote Remarks)

1 Views
Published
The Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE) and the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy (LKYSPP) at the National University of Singapore are launching the Next STEP (Solutions to Economic Problems) Global Conference on November 1-2, 2021. The conference will be the first in a series of annual global dialogues where leaders meet to address challenges to human well-being arising from economic instability, insecurity, and exclusion. The sessions are aimed at producing actionable, effective, and sustainable solutions that can be adopted by national governments and international institutions.

The November conference will focus on (1) Supply chains in a world of conflict and COVID-19, with keynote remarks by US Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo on supply chain challenges, followed by a discussion with Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Senior Minister, Singapore, (2) Economic policymaking in a Big Data, Big Tech global economy, and (3) Is it possible for humanity to cooperate in delivering global public goods? Please see the links below to register to participate. The closing dialogue with Martin Wolf will be webcast live on this page.

Speakers include high-level policymakers and thought leaders in the global community, with audience participation encouraged from early-career professionals, tech practitioners and investors, and voices from Asia, Africa, and Latin America.

Welcome
7 AM EDT / 7 PM SGT

Speakers:
Adam S. Posen, President, PIIE
Danny Quah, Dean and Li Ka Shing Professor in Economics, LKYSPP at National University of Singapore
Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Senior Minister, Singapore

Session 1: Supply chains in a world of conflict and COVID-19
7:15 AM – 8:45 AM EDT / 7:15 PM – 8:45 PM SGT

Moderator: Danny Quah, Dean and Li Ka Shing Professor in Economics, LKYSPP at National University of Singapore

Speakers:
Muhamad Chatib Basri, former Indonesian Finance Minister
Chad P. Bown, Reginald Jones Senior Fellow, PIIE
Michael Buchanan, Head of Portfolio Strategy & Risk Group, Temasek
Jacqueline Poh, Managing Director, Singapore Economic Development Board
Tsai Ming-Kai, Chairman, MediaTek Inc.

Keynote Remarks by US Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo on supply chain challenges
Followed by a discussion with Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Senior Minister, Singapore
8:45 AM – 9:30 AM EDT / 8:45 PM – 9:30 PM SGT

Moderator: Adam S. Posen, President, PIIE
Category
Management
Be the first to comment